top of page
Writer's picturePaige Runions

Girls Soccer Season


The Cascade student section throws up peace signs while proudly supporting their girl's soccer team. Photo Credit: Paige Runions

The start of the girls 2024 soccer season has been eventful, with wins and losses, and many lessons learned along the way. The team started with a 6-2 loss to Ephrata, followed by a 6-3 win against Omak, an 11-0 win against Liberty Bell, a 3-2 loss to Toppenish, a 3-1 win against Bridgeport, and a 14-0 win against Orville. 


 The team's first home match against Omak was attended by many supportive friends and family, and an enthusiastic student section.  


“I was most excited to see the team all play together in front of the students and parents and to be supported by everyone,” stated varsity player Mia Dries (12). “My favorite part of the game was the first goal, because the first time that someone scores at home it's very exciting. The crowd gets excited, and it brings the energy out for the rest of the game.” 

For some players, this season will unfortunately be their last. Seniors have learned how to savor their last year, and some still have major responsibilities to the team. “I like the fact that people can come to me. I like being a leader. It definitely feels nice too, but I think the best part is just being there for people,” said senior captain Maizy Groff. Captains are voted on by the entire team.  

My favorite part of the season has been all of the new people, doing funny stuff with our teammates, just messing around,” said Castaneda.

The start of the season can be stressful, and many players can feel apprehensive about the work that needs to be done. “I feel like what I've been most scared of is losing all the seniors from last year,” said Adi Castaneda (11). “I feel like we lost someone in every position. To fill those shoes was kind of stressful. Something that has been challenging is our conditioning: we are not in shape, so we still need to work on that.” Even though the start can be stressful, the season still holds a lot of fun moments. “My favorite part of the season has been all of the new people, doing funny stuff with our teammates, just messing around,” said Castaneda.  


Head Coach Jamie Lamb has been working hard with the group to bring them to their fullest potential. “I feel like the team’s really coming together as a group, and I see big strides in their character and their soccer playing. I'm proud of the learning and character building we’ve had in the defense, because I feel that’s been our area that has been most unique and changed from last year. So, watching as we grow. I want the team to keep working on better spatial awareness, like where to stand in the field,” said Lamb.  

So far, the team is showing great potential and will continue to work hard in the games to come. If you wish to come out to cheer for our Cascade Kodiaks, the next home game will be Thursday, October 3 against Okanogan.  

7 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page