top of page
  • Georgia Holm

Review of The Notebook


Coal Fiano (10) gets ready to watch The Notebook for the first time. “I'm excited to watch it, because it's a classic and everyone seems to really love it,” explained Fiano. Photo Credit: Georgia Holm.

The Notebook is a heartbreaking yet hopeful romance movie about young summer love. The thing that makes it different from most classic romance movies is that the main character, Noah, recounts the story of their young love to Allie, his wife. In her old age, Allie has developed dementia and doesn't remember a thing about her life, including Noah. As Noah finishes reading their story, Allie remembers for a short time who Noah is. Every day Noah tells the same story of their love again and again just so he can have her back for a few short minutes. 


“I loved the notebook because it showed true love and was very cute. The ending was my favorite part because it makes me want to believe in soulmates,” said Rhetta Cummings (12). 


Sometimes it's hard to distinguish between life and death, between whether we are born just to eventually die, or whether we were born so that we could really live. It’s hard to know what will happen later in life, if everything you’ve been working towards will ever pay off. While watching The Notebook, it was obvious that the characters were really living their life. When I first watched The Notebook, I got so caught up in the story line and beauty of the movie, that I completely forgot that it wasn’t real, that the characters were just made up. Everything about this movie, from the actors and the script to the house with a giant wrap-around porch, made me smile, laugh and cry along with the characters. 


Noah and Allie’s relationship proved that they were the kind of people who were born to live, they lived their lives fully even when they were apart from each other and took advantage of every opportunity for adventure. I loved this movie so much and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who loves a good romance.  “I loved the notebook because it showed true love and was very cute. The ending was my favorite part because it makes me want to believe in soulmates,” said Rhetta Cummings (12). 


The Notebook is a beautiful story of love, a heartbreaking demonstration of life, and a thrilling tale of adventure.  The Notebook is one of my favorite movies that makes me want to believe in true love. After all, what The Notebook made me realize is that love is more than just three words mumbled before going to work, it is something that is sustained by the pattern of devotion we show every day to the people we love; like reading the same story every single day. 


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page