top of page
  • Writer's pictureAda Robbins

Student in the Spotlight: Zoey Sheffield

Updated: May 9, 2023


Senior Zoey Sheffield is a tennis player, loves art, music and fashion, is a committed student, and a natural leader. She is recognized for her leadership abilities and for her contributions to Cascade High School. She will be attending Western Washington University next year and is planning on studying English and creative writing, she is doing a minor with the honors college there.


Zoey has played tennis at Cascade for four years and said “I think most of the reason I play tennis is because my dad played tennis and that’s like his sport. But I also really enjoy it, I think it's very fun, I love the team atmosphere and playing doubles, and it's just very chill.” Zoey's positive attitude and commitment to teamwork have also made her a leader for others to look up to.


Close friend and tennis teammate Miles Hunt said “I think she was the tennis captain last year, and I know a lot of the freshman and sophomores on the team looked up to her. I don’t really know what she does in ASB, but I know she's involved in a lot of things leadership-wise, like 30Min2Win, and I think that’s cool, and people look up to her. And her little sister and her friends all look up to her as a leader. Zoey is a great friend; we’ve been friends throughout high school.”


In 30 min “she leads by example because she is shyer and quieter, but when she talks, people want to listen. She’s just a really positive human being and people like that positivity. She just always has a positive outlook on everything and is such a creative person,” said 30min Advisor Ms. Robison. “Zoey shows up every time; a good leader, she always takes charge, is always on time, always shows up. Sometimes she's the only one there, but she gets it started,” said Kikkan Brine, a freshman in Zoey’s 30min class.


When students and staff at CHS think of Zoey, their first comment is more often than not about how stylish she is. Zoey is always able to find unique pieces and loves to thrift; she describes thrifting as a main hobby of hers; she said, “I think thrifting is so great because you can find so many things that you can't find in retail stores, and its sustainable and you can find so many unique pieces.” As well as showing her creativity through fashion, Zoey has a love for music: “I think music has always been a big part of my life, I love the lyrics, the rhythm, and how music brings people together. Music is one of my favorite expressions of art.”


Zoey was also recognized for her hard work in ASB by Vice Principal, Mrs. Bibby. “Zoey is always willing to help with anything...I haven't worked with her a ton, but when I have, I notice that she is always eager to step in and help out if needed. She’s the secretary so she makes sure that she's taking all the notes, volunteers to help others with their work. She just seems to be a person that is approachable and helpful to all students and staff.” Zoey is involved in ASB by helping with school organized events, like the senior trip.


Zoey is seen as a role model to the grades below her and always sets a good example for her peers This is just one example of the positive impact Zoey has on everyone around her.






42 views0 comments

댓글


bottom of page