top of page
  • pnunnally24

Winter Sports


Basketball and wrestling seasons at Cascade High School are about to start. Participants look forward to returning to a more traditional version of the sports

As the leaves fall and the temperature drops, winter is just around the conner. Basketball and wresting are starting up and the participating Kodiaks couldn’t be more excited to get back into the sports they love. A long-awaited regular winter sports season is finally here. CHS winter sports include girls' basketball, boys' basketball and wrestling.


Both boys and girls basketball began their first practice on the 15th of November. From there, they started practicing regularly every day. They will attend their first game on November 30th in Sultan. With many boys and girls from each grade level, there will be more than plenty of players for two full teams.


“I'm super excited for the season to finally start and have a more normal year of playing. There were lots of girls who tried out and I think the team is going to have lots of players this year. I play post and so does one of my closest friends Rayen Blue, so I look forward to practice knowing I'll be with her and more of my friends,” said sophomore Cassidy Gillespie. Cassidy has played basketball since she was around five years old. She has been on many club teams and is hoping to further her skills this season. Sophomore Bryan Songer is playing his second high school basketball season this year. “The boys' team is looking really strong this year; I've missed playing a normal year of basketball. I have a good feeling we will do very well this season, and hopefully win lots of games,” he said. Bryan also mentioned he is playing with a lot of his friends and looking forward to having fun while getting better at the sport he loves.

Wrestling season has kicked off their with practices starting November 15th and preparation for their first tournament in Omak December 4th. The team is mostly males, but does feature one female wrestler. “My favorite part of wrestling is how supportive the team is, how much we like to push each-other to do better and we all feel like family,” said sophomore Mya Herrera. She is hopeful for the team's success this year: “I think the team is going to do really good this year, Chuy is coaching again, and we have a lot more people who joined wresting his year, so I think we have a good chance of being successful this year.” Mya has put in a ton of hard work into her wrestling and has been participating since middle school. “I’ve been wrestling since middle school. I wasn’t sure if I was going to continue this season, but I love the coach and my team,” said sophomore wrestler Carson Curry. Carson is known as a talented wrestler and is expecting a successful season.


Overall, both teams have a very positive outlook for the upcoming season. It will be very exciting to see what the Kodiaks do this year!


Fans can stay up to date on scores and schedules for sports all year round by checking out the Kodiak Athletics website - https://cascadekodiakathletics.com. Go Kodiaks!

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Kodiak Chronicle

the student news site of Cascade High School

bottom of page