top of page
  • Fernanda Ramirez

Student in the Spotlight: Emily Sanchez Medina



Avid student Emily Sanchez (12) has spread her positivity, kindness, and intelligence to everyone at CHS. Emily isn’t a four-year CHS district student. She attended Cashmere until she moved halfway through her 7th grade year. “I moved cause lowkey I got tired of it, but I also moved because its closer and wouldn’t take as long to get there. The middle school was a wonderous place, it was fine at the time, I was there for only like a year then covid happened, so I didn’t really get to see the middle school. The high school was nice though, I like how they changed it. It’s been fun I’ve made a lot of friends,” said Sanchez.  


She liked doing sports at Cashmere. “I did track and field and volleyball. I wasn’t good at volleyball, I was bad at volleyball. I’m going admit that, but it was fun, a lot of the friends I have right now is because of volleyball. I did track and field and I loved track and field I don’t do it anymore because I got kind of lazy,” stated Sanchez.  


Emily has a few favorite classes this semester but one of them is EWU English. “I like English the most, I’m an English nerd, I like Ms. Rosenfiled. I’ve had her for all four years, so I’m very excited about that. It’s a rigorous class; it’s a lot of reading and writing and I just like that.” She currently attends EWU English class with Rosenfield and has showed a lot in her past classes with her. “Emily has become rightfully so a lot more confident as a student as she’s grown through high school, she’s actually a fantastic student a really deep thinker and a really hard worker, but she also is a perfectionist so as those who love her know, she actually started doing better in trusting herself to do well and not be 100% perfect cause most the time she’s 99% perfect,” stated Ms. Rosenfield.  


“She’s silly, fun loving, but she’s also incredibly compassionate and caring, fiercely loyal to people that she cares about. She used to have an amazing sticker collection but unfortunately, she has let that drop off despite my request for more stickers, she’s an awesome friend, and she seems like an awesome sister, and a fabulous student. I’m really going to miss her when she graduates,” said Rosenfield. We know she is loved by her teacher, but she also has a lot of friends who love her and look out for her.


Irene Ramirez (9), one of her friends, has been friends with her for about a year. “I met her during quarantine” she states. A favorite memory she has with her is “at a friend’s birthday party where everyone was just having fun, or when we text each other and have funny conversations. I had saw her on my Instagram suggestion and followed her and started to text each other, eventually we met and got close. I got the same vibe from her online and in real life, she’s really outgoing and she’s open minded and honest, she’s funny,” said Ramirez.  


One of her first friends when she first moved to CHS also had a lot to say about her. “I remember in middle school, 8th grade or 7th grade I remember Dulce Herrera (12) walking with another girl, and I thought they were cousins. I came up to them and asked if they where cousins and they kind of both just stared at me, and I knew that’s when I had messed up. Any ways I just introduced myself to her, she was shy and awkward at first but once she gets out of her zone, she’s prob the most characteristic person I’ve ever met. She’s fun and energetic, like if you’re feeling down or something you just end up having energy with her and its so fun,” said Daniella Alvarez (12).  


Emily has a plan for after high school. “I want to go to a 4-year university, right now I’m still deciding in my colleges. I’ve been accepted into three, but I still have like four applications to do. I want to major in education, not exactly sure what. I kind of [like] what Mrs. Camp does, she can teach kindergarten up to seniors, so I have a range of things I want to go in to,” said Sanchez. Whatever Emily decides to major in or wherever she ends up it will take her to success and will be missed by her teachers’, underclassmen friends, and the CHS community. 


43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page