top of page
  • Writer's picturePaige Runions

Student in the Spotlight: Madeline Black


Courtesy of Parsons Photography.

One of the most recognizable faces at CHS belongs to senior Madeline Black (12). Always a friendly and active student, Maddy has been involved in everything from sports to camps, clubs to leadership roles. Moving here from Shoreline the summer before second grade, Maddy's first friend in Leavenworth was Anaii Mendoza (12). However, Breanna Loomis (12) currently holds the title of Maddy's best friend. “In fourth grade we were both in Mr. H’s class and we became friends then, drifted apart in middle school and then in sophomore year became friends again. She is the person that probably knows me best and she's almost like a sister to me in a way,” explained Loomis. Maddy’s friend group spans multiple grades, including juniors and sophomores such as Gretchen Leach (10).  


“Me and Maddy met in Geometry, and I think she was a little bit threatened by me because I was in 8th grade and apparently, she thought I was really annoying. I don’t really know when me and Maddy became friends, but I remember hanging out with her in our Algebra II class last year and we just got closer and closer. I love Maddy’s humor, and I think that she's honest. My favorite memory with Maddy was hanging out in Leadership and stealing Paige [Runions]'s sour punch straws,” said Leach.  


Over the years, Maddy has had many fun experiences and memorable moments, but some of the best times were getting to connect with the people she loves. “[One of my favorite memories with Maddy] had to be honestly hanging out and walking around Enchantment Park. I know it's a simple thing and not very exciting, but it was a time we actually got to connect and discuss,” states Loomis.  


Throughout her high school years, Maddy has been involved in many clubs and sports. She played volleyball from 7th grade until sophomore year and played golf all four years of high school. She is also currently the treasurer of Interact club, treasurer for the senior class ASB, and Editor-in-Chief for the yearbook and newspaper.  


She has been doing Publications since sophomore year and attended a journalism camp at Washington State University. “I think going to journalism camp helped me not only really learn more about journalism in general, but also journalism in Washington State. At Washington State University we stayed in the dorms, so I felt like I got a good college experience before college,” explained Black.  


"Maddy has been an instrumental leader in Publications.  She is creative and talented.  She understands how to do everything and is a leader who takes initiative.  She is greatly appreciated by the entire Publications team,” said Ms. Robison, Publications advisor.   

Maddy has taken many different types of classes over the years, but her favorite has been art. “I really liked 3D Design with Mrs. Dillon because I made a cow sculpture out of soda and Arizona cans,” states Black.  


After graduation, Maddy will attend Montana State University. “Right now my major is English Education, but I want to switch it to Creative Writing,” Black explained. After college she wants to move to Chicago or Boston and try to make it big as an author. Even though she will be missed at Cascade, Maddy is headed for great things.  


42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page